How I’m Funding My Adventures Around the World Through Travel Blogging.

I found this post really comforting as recently I’ve been considering rather than catching my provisional flight home in October, I’d like to get a more permanent visa to stay in Canada over winter or failing that I’ve also been looking at Australia for an even longer term. Obviously with these thoughts come the worries of ‘What will my finances look like at that time?’ and ‘How will I afford to live or the visa to get me there?’.
Even though Shivya talks about funding via blogging, her reminders of letting go of luxuries and not really knowing how things will turn out are the most exciting aspects of travel and the ones that really help you find yourself if you happen to be in a sticky or less desired situation!

The Shooting Star

I started 2015 on a private island in Panama, with 150 rupees ($2.5 USD) in my account.

That’s the lowest my account balance has ever been since I quit my corporate job over four years ago. It was just one of those weeks when every single payment I was expecting got delayed. I had no idea how I would pay for my meals and transfers – they didn’t accept credit cards and my alternate debit card wasn’t working – but instead of panicking, I immersed myself in the Nat Geo-like setting of my hideout (think sting rays doing backflips, dolphins swimming with their kids, bioluminescent algae lighting up the waters).

shivya nath panama, how to make money from travel blogging At my private island hideout in Panama.

As luck would have it, by the time I checked out and went to an ATM with my host, one of my payments had *just* come in! PHEW.

The life of a travel blogger (or a freelancer)…

View original post 1,555 more words

Leave a Reply

